Hi, I’m Angela!  I grew up in the San Francisco Bay Area, but now I live near Washington, DC.  Here’s a bit about my life so far:

Educational Background

I’ve got two bachelor’s degrees—one in Psychology and the other in Communication, as well as a Master’s degree in Communication Management, all from the University of Southern California, where I was a Presidential Scholar.  I wrote my Master’s thesis on same-sex parenting.  In 2018, I earned a doctorate in Human and Organizational Learning from George Washington University’s Graduate School of Education and Human Development.  My doctoral dissertation research focused around the experience of modern day polymaths—also known as “Renaissance men/women.”

Work Info

In my twenties, while living in Los Angeles, I spent several years working at a shelter for battered women and their children. In 1999, I interned for the California Governor’s Office, and later in the summer of 2005, I was a White House intern.  That led to me being later hired by the Executive Office of the President (EOP) as a non-political, career federal employee. I spent six wonderful years working for the office of the President, beginning under the Bush Administration, and staying throughout President Obama’s first term. While working at EOP, I was lucky enough to be put into the “Executive Leadership Program” for up-and-coming government leaders, which led to me being temporarily assigned to the State Department at the American Embassy in Buenos Aires, Argentina, where I worked in public relations.

From 2013 to 2015, I worked for the Federal Executive Institute (FEI) in Charlottesville, VA where I organized training seminars for members of the Senior Executive Service—the federal government’s most prestigious and elite group of career civil servants.  Since 2015, I have worked for FEI’s sister organization within the Center for Leadership Development—the Eastern Management Development Center, where I manages a portfolio of leadership development programs for learners from across the federal government space.

Personal Stuff

Aside from my work for the federal government, I also serves as the Manager of a family-owned real estate and investment company which my paternal grandparents founded.

For fun, I enjoy international travel; I’ve been to approximately 40 countries on 6 continents to date.  In years past, I was a dual-sport motorcycle rider, and I’ve been skydiving, bungee jumping, and sampled various other daredevil activities.  I like to push myself to have broad experiences—even those outside of my comfort zone.  And I love to learn.  I’ve been to countless workshops, retreats, seminars, and conferences—especially those of self-help and spiritual nature.

My major life goals are to continue to learn and improve myself, to experience life fully and authentically, and to hopefully have a positive impact along the way.

I’ve been married since 2012 to my husband, Joe.  Together, we have a beautiful, healthy, smart, vivacious little girl named Lily, and a very patient, intelligent, well-behaved German Shepherd named Nico.